Skip to content

Reflections from a visiting former Ballard student now working in Germany

May 2, 2014

It was fantastic to return to Ballard on Wednesday and to see some familiar faces. I was delighted to be able to speak to the senior jonathan harding may 14 low resschool about what lies ahead and I’d like to thank the school for giving me the chance to do so.

I’m fortunate to currently be pursuing a career in sports journalism out in Germany, working as a freelancer for Deutsche Welle during the World Cup. I have just returned from an 18-month spell in Munich where I worked with a media agency, an English newspaper and a podcast covering both the Bundesliga and sports in the city.

The biggest aid in making my career possible was being able to speak a foreign language, in this case German. Ballard were fantastic as they allowed me to study all three languages (French, Spanish and German) at GCSE level, and I would like to send particular thanks to Mr. Bellars for his efforts in helping me attain my German GCSE early. After Ballard, I pursued languages further at A-Level during two years of boarding at Clayesmore, before settling on German at the University of Birmingham. A four-year course that included a year of teaching English in a German state school set me up for my time in Munich shortly afterwards.

There have been a number of changes in my life, and I have no doubt there are many more to come. Perhaps the biggest was arriving at Ballard as I knew no one in England at that point and the concept of uniformed school was very new to me. However, with each change I have realised one thing. Change is an inevitability of life. Progress, on the other hand, is optional. With every new direction that I have headed in, I have also made the decision to progress. So embrace life, don’t fear it.

Thanks again for having me back. It was great to see as many staff members as I did, thank you all for being so welcoming! I hope to see you all soon.

Best wishes,
Jonathan Harding

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

